Starting over on Seahaven

November 24, 2011 at 11:41 PM | Posted in AC:CF journal | 18 Comments
Tags:

Well, this is my second AC:CF post, so you’d think it would be about meeting new neighbors, visiting the city, possibly paying off a loan or two… but I’m back to square one. 😛 I rebuilt the town I started in this post because the gate was really bothering me:

I actually really like the barn gate, but it contrasts too much with how I want to decorate this town. I’d like to make pristine white paths bordered by bushes, neat gardens and statues.


This is the white pebble side path I started to work on, for example. When I first started having doubts, I still thought I could embrace the barn gate by having rustic patterns near the gate and elsewhere in town having the style of patterns I really want. But when I get a fancy fountain, it will be right in front of that old gate. >_<


So… I rebuilt. 😦 It was a nice town, but the gate bothered me way too much, so why start paying off my debts (I hadn’t even payed off my first one yet :P) and catching all the bugs and fish in a town I’m not happy with?

For the town I settle on, I want either the castle gate:


Or the palace gate:

I love both of these gate styles and think either one would be fitting.

I first learned about the unique features in AC:CF towns in these two stickied threads on ACC:
AC:CF Villager House Style Guide
Town Layout Guide [3] – The guide to all town features!
I find all these variations in AC:CF towns really interesting, and now that I’ve started to collect my own pictures through resetting, I’ll go over which ones I like, which ones I don’t, which ones I’m hoping for in the town I settle on, and which ones I don’t care too much about either way.


House styles are still one of the most important factors for me in choosing a town. I refuse to accept any town without the stone/planked combination. 😛 Every AC:CF town has two house styles, and it’s not as hard to reset for the house styles you want as it was in AC:WW because there aren’t limitless combinations. For example, this stone house is only compatible with planked houses and colored cabana houses in my region.


According to the house style thread this is called the planked house style, which I think goes well with the stone house style and I love the old cottage feel both house styles give off.


I like this barn house, too, but unfortunately it’s not compatible with the stone house, my favorite.


This is referred to as the colored cabana house in the aforementioned thread, I guess because of the bright coloring of the walls and door. Bright roof colors look good with it, but roof colors aren’t unique to certain house styles; the roof colors and house shape depend on the villager.

I really like this pink cabana house style, the pink doors are so cute! 😀 These two “cabana” houses look good together, i think. They’re only available in North America, just like certain other house styles are only available in other parts of the world, like the pagoda, wood house, log cabin, and brick house (so I can’t get pictures of those).


I’m also really hoping for at least one bay, which is when a part of the river juts out near the ocean and both salt water and fresh water flow into it.


I think it’s even better when the bay has a little beach attached, like here.


And it’s awesome when the two sides of a split river both have bays! 😀

Another thing I’m hoping for in my new town is a different waterfall than this straight one in the middle of town:

Since every AC:WW town and AC:CF town has a straight waterfall at the top of town, I really want my middle-town waterfall to be different.

This west-facing horizontal waterfall is the rarest type according to the town features thread.

But it’s not my favorite type of waterfall because it’s not as visible as other types at different angles:



I had an east-facing horizontal waterfall in the first town I attempted to settle in from my last post:
It just faces the other direction. These are called horizontal waterfalls because of the way the river approaches the cliff, as you can see here.


Rivers that approach cliffs diagonally form crooked waterfalls, my favorite kind. 🙂 I love how they look at all angles and how there is often a cozy nook on one side of the waterfall next to its pool. This is an east-facing crooked waterfall; I don’t have a picture of the west-facing version yet.

Another thing to look for in a town is the characters’ house locations, my favorite of which is near a waterfall:

It seems pretty rare to be close to a waterfall on higher ground, and even in this example it’s kind of a stretch. 😛 You can just see the picket fence of a character’s house in the upper left corner.


Being near a waterfall on lower ground seems to be more common because I saw this same set-up a few more times.


Like here 😛

This is the map of the same town in the above picture, showing how this house location looks like on a map:


The last example of this house location:

I guess I continued to take pictures either because I didn’t realize I was taking pictures of the same thing or because I just love this house location so much. 😆

And here’s the map of the town where the picture above was taken:

Woo, two bays! 😛

In that map you can also see a house near a pool, which is another location that I love. This is an example from a different town:



But I just love ponds in general and think it’s awesome when towns have a lot of them, like these two museum ponds from my last post! 😀


Having one’s house on an island has been a popular location since AC:WW. In AC:CF it’s even better because you can have one of your mules live there instead of your main character if you don’t like the inconvenience/loneliness of living on an island.

The above picture is clearly an island house because it’s right below the river split. This one is also an island house, but not obvious by looking at it:


So here’s what the map looks like:



This is an island house as well, again not obvious by this picture, but it’s near the beach and a bay. 😀

And this is the map, showing a fairly large island:



This is the last example I have of an island house, yet again not obvious by looking at the picture, but this one might be my favorite because there is only one villager house location on the island. Wouldn’t it be cool if your favorite villager lived on the island with you? 😛


It’s a pretty small island, but there’s still room to decorate, especially since there’s only one villager house/sign.


I’m not set on having my house on an island, though; I would be happy with any well-shaped island. Islands with no sign-posts at all are actually my favorite kind, like this one.


But look at how tiny the island has to be for there to be no signposts! 😛


Here’s another tiny island with no signposts, which reminds me of Dafdilly’s island because of the three-space-wide beach.

The map of it:

Even the bridge placements are similar to Dafdilly’s. 😮

There are other town features unique to AC:CF and AC:GC and absent from AC:WW because of the cliffs. For example, ridges like this are sometimes found on the edge of town:

They’d be fun to decorate with flowers. 🙂

Where I’m standing on the ridge above:


The opposite of a ridge is a long canyon between the cliff at the edge of town and the cliff that runs across town:

This would also be fun to decorate with flowers. The longer these narrow canyons and ridges are, the rarer they are.

Map of the town with the narrow canyon above:



Ramps in AC:CF are extremely varied and it’s interesting to see all the different types, but having rare/cool ones like this isn’t too high on my priorities. Even the most basic vertical ramp can be made interesting with stair patterns.


Another interesting ramp with multiple levels.


And this wide one is like the slope of a hill!


Look who I found in one of the towns! ❤ I'm glad she was inside so I could see her awesome house. 😀


I couldn’t help pausing in my resetting to greet Melba, she’s so sweet. 🙂


I also met some villagers I’d never seen before, like Willow here, a bright yellow sheep; Merry, an adorable white cat; and Fang, a stylish-looking cranky wolf. I’m not picky about villagers when resetting, but I do hope I get some of my favorites like Melba eventually.


This is probably my favorite map I’ve seen so far: an island, beached bay, crooked waterfall (my favorite), two museum ponds, a canyon, a ridge on the edge of town, a ridge that juts out in the middle of town, and not one but two houses close to waterfalls:


This house location is near the waterfall at the top of town, something I either didn’t see too much or didn’t notice because I was too busy looking at the waterfall in the middle of town. You can get a similar house location in Wild World (by selecting “border” with Kapp’n’), but can’t be in the same acre as the waterfall.


The other house by the waterfall. Okay, it’s not extremely close, but I still like it. 😛


This is another really cool house location in that town, overlooking a canyon and right beside a ridge! 😀 I didn’t take a picture of the fourth house location, but it’s a nice one, too, right by the beach.


A picture of the ridge on the edge of town and near the house location above.


And the beached bay! 😀 I would have picked this town if it had the grass shape and house styles I wanted (it had one of the gates I wanted, though). Little aesthetic details like that matter to me more than the town’s layout as a whole. Still, I hope to find a layout I really like along with those little details I want. It’s hard to say when I’ll find the right town; it could be tomorrow or over a week from now, but I’ll draw the line after a few weeks if I still haven’t found a town. 😛 Hopefully it won’t take that long, wish me luck! xP If you read all this, what are your favorite town features in AC:CF?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.